Latest Review

Nike Tiempo Legacy FG

80945


The Nike Tiempo Legacy Men’s Cleat excels in many areas; however, despite its strengths, we concluded that it left a little to be desired.  Made out of calf-leather, the signature material for Nike’s Tiempos over the years, this cleat is without a doubt one of the more comfortable boots out there, even while being broken in for the first time. Players can rejoice with the knowledge that there was no initial period of blisters or cuts that can come as hidden costs. The support around the heel and cushioned interior create an exceedingly comfortable experience and for many players in the market for buying new cleats, this is a must have. The most impressive asset and advantage that this boot brings is its power and smooth striking ability. For this model, Nike advertises an improved “textured forefoot surface” that provides better striking control and there was a noticeable enhancement in this area compared to earlier Tiempo models. This, coupled with a large sweet spot, creates a consistently accurate boot.

While in general we did have a positive experience with these cleats, there are negatives that should be addressed. The first issue was durability, a necessity for any anyone who is looking to get a return on their investment. After three months of moderate wear on grass and turf surfaces the toe and the TPU cleat plate started to split, hurting the functionality and aesthetics of the cleat. At first we hoped that this an anomaly, but unfortunately we found that other consumers had similar issues with durability. It is recognized that these aren’t Nike’s top of the line cleats, but for the price we would have hoped for a better result. Additionally, the close touch of the cleat did not match the quality of other cleats we have reviewed in the past, despite the advertisements of Nike. Obviously given the heavier cleat, there are sacrifices and subsequently pros and cons that materialize, but tight touch control is one quality of a pair of cleats that is hard to overlook.

Even though this boot could be used anywhere on the pitch, it should be noted that there are many other cleats that are much lighter with a greater emphasis on speed, explosion and a close touch on the market that would be better suited for strikers or attacking players. The cleats are not by any means clunky or too heavy, especially with the new water resistant leather. Nevertheless, there is an apparent weight difference that does have noticeable effects.

In conclusion, we enjoyed testing out the Nike Tiempo Legacy and think it is definitely a satisfactory boot. It provides many essential attributes to footballers; however, the cleat did not provide a full spectrum of necessary attributes. It instead featured excellent power, comfort and striking ability with less than stellar durability and close touch. For the price of $100 though, it is fair and you will get a good pair of cleats. In the end it all depends on what assets you are looking for your cleat to provide to your game. If you are interested in purchasing these cleats please visit the link here. Hope you enjoyed our review and let us know what you think too on the forum below!

Conclusion:

Nike Tiempo Legacy FG (8.4 oz) (Volt/Hyperpunch/Black)

Durability 6.5/10, Touch 7.5/10 Power 9.5/10, Speed 7.5/10, Comfort 9.5/10, Accuracy 9/10 = 50.5/60 = 83.3 = B

Nike Mercurial Veloce II

Nike Mercurial Veloce II

In preparation for the 2014 World Cup in Brazil, Nike released a whole new lineup of cleats for the tournament featuring either new or updated models such as the Obra, the Magista, the Hypervenom, the Tiempo V and more. If you watched a game where players (often even a whole team) were wearing neon yellow or pinkish red cleats, then they were showing off Nike’s new summer collection package. Even though we didn’t get a chance to play in this year’s World Cup, we were however fortunate enough to test the Nike Mercurial Veloce II Men’s FG Cleat, one of the updated cleat models sporting the pinkish red color. We were very pleased with what what we found with this boot, especially considering it is easily overlooked given the hype that other cleats received.

Advertised that its construction is “built for speed and touch”, there is not a more concise or accurate way to describe these cleats. At 6.6 ounces these are definitely one of the lighter cleats on the market, lending itself to explosive moves and a whole new sense of speed. The cleat plate provides great traction which, coupled with its lightweight construction, is excellent for overall agility. Switching directions and quick cuts with speed were a noticeable advantage with this model. We were very impressed with the its close touch ability too. Not only was there an extreme sense of control in close areas with the instep and outside of the cleat, but also with the cleat plate when dragging the ball. The power of this cleat is not poor, but it is also not an overwhelming selling point for the cleat.

Some tips for potential buyers include the fact that the cleats are constructed narrower than many other models which means that players with generally wide feet should be mindful of this prior to purchasing. The synthetic leather conforms to one’s feet as mentioned before so this initial narrowness will diminish slightly as the cleats expand, but it is still something to keep in mind. Once broken in, the material of the Nike Veloce II creates a comfortable pair of cleats, which is always an added bonus to a model with such a strong emphasis on speed and lightweight construction. Another small anecdotal piece of advice for those that chose to purchase the “Hyper Punch” color of this model is that the cleat is slightly pinker than the picture displayed online. Contrary to the online photos which has a darker red than it does in real life. This did not deter us from the cleat at all though, we loved the color and overall sleek design. Nike is known for its eye catching colors and the designers definitely didn’t disappoint with this model. In the grand scheme of the cleat this isn’t the most important detail, but this may be a factor in those who are deciding between colors for their investment.

To finish, priced at 130$ these cleats are definitely worth the price and are a solid buy for anyone looking for a deadly combination of speed and immaculate touch. Given that these cleats are the latest model, the price will remain relatively constant so anytime is suitable for purchase.  The pros of the cleat more than outweigh any cons that could be conjured up such as the average power or narrowness. Hope you enjoyed the review! Comment below on your thoughts or any boots you would like us to review in the future.

Final Word:

Nike Mercurial Veloce II FG (6.6 oz)

Durability 8/10, Touch 9.5/10, Power 8/10, Speed 9.5/10, Comfort 8.5/10, Accuracy 9/10 = 52.5/60 = 88= B+

We’re Back!

We’re Back!

Lionel Messi is excited about our return and we hope you are too! After a stint of inactivity, ReviewSoccer.com, your destination for all things soccer,  is back up and running with a new management of soccer fanatics. We will be regularly reviewing the most recent, popular and relevant cleats on the market, giving you the down low that you won’t find on major soccer websites. Soccer cleats are a long term and often expensive investment so one of our aims is to hopefully help you make an informed decision on your next pair of boots. Our expert reviews will give you details on the latest models to help you determine which cleats cater best to your style of play, price range, aesthetic appeal, and more.  On this site you will also find helpful guides for consumers, reviews of other essential soccer accessories, weekly handpicked soccer articles and much more. There are also forums opportunities to comment which we strongly encourage because we would love to hear your input, whether it be suggestions, comments, or questions. Furthermore, please continue to email us at advertising@reviewsoccer.com for direct business and advertising propositions. At reviewsoccer.com our passions are anything soccer, futbol and football, hope you enjoy!

Nike Mercurial Vapor VI Review

Nike Mercurial Vapor VI Review

This is a guest review by our friend and teammate, Reid. He really likes the Vapor VI’s so he approached us and asked if he could write a review for our site so that everyone could know how great they are! Continue Reading

Puma V1.10 SL Review

Puma V1.10 SL Review

A special thanks to our good friends at Puma for sending us a pair of their new Puma V1.10 SL cleats for review in the Parachute Purple/Tender Shoots colorway. Right out of the box they look like a very classy shoe with a little bit of flair to it, but fairly subtle colors in comparison to other speed boots released as of late.

Continue Reading